Activities for children

Story Box Library

Story Library Box logo

Story Box Library - a free online video streaming service featuring story telling by some of Australia’s favourite storytellers.

If you have landed here from the online catalogue, please click on the red story box then log in using your library membership number. Search for your selected title and enjoy!

Baby Bounce @ 10:30 am

Each Baby Bounce session provides a half hour of songs, rhymes, stories and movement for very young children, and is designed to introduce 0 to 3 years olds to the wonderful world of books and libraries.

Mother and child

Schedule for 2018:

  • Friday 9 February
  • Friday 9 March
  • Friday 13 April
  • Friday 11 May
  • Friday 8 June
  • July school holidays - no Baby Bounce session
  • Friday 10 August
  • Friday 14 September
  • October school holidays - no Baby Bounce session
  • Friday 9 November
  • Friday 14 December

All welcome! For enquiries phone Kempsey Library 6566 3210 or email kempsey.library@kempsey.nsw.gov.au

Lego Builders @ 10:30 am

Bring your imagination to create, build and play with the library’s new Lego collection. Suitable for children aged 2-3 years, the Lego Builders program involves using Lego to develop early literacy and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics) skills. Through songs and rhymes children will increase their functional vocabulary. The building activities tap into the children’s desire to explore, imagine and learn, providing hands-on opportunities for creativity and imagination.

Schedule for 2018:

  • Monday 19 February
  • Monday 19 March
  • April school holidays - no Lego Builders
  • Monday 21 May
  • Monday 18 June
  • July school holidays - no Lego Builders
  • Monday 20 August
  • Monday 17 September
  • Monday 15 October
  • Monday 19 November
  • Monday 17 December

All welcome! For enquiries phone Kempsey Library 6566 3210 or email kempsey.library@kempsey.nsw.gov.au

Storytime @ 10:30 am

Storytime sessions include book readings, craft and often a musical activity. The sessions are designed for children aged 3 to 6 years, and aim to develop early literacy skills in a fun and social environment.

Child with sketchpad

Schedule for 2018:

  • Friday 23 February
  • March - no Storytime
  • Friday 27 April (special school holiday Storytime)
  • Friday 25 May
  • Friday 29 June
  • Friday 27 July
  • Friday 31 August
  • Friday 28 September
  • Friday 26 October
  • Friday 30 November

All welcome! For enquiries phone Kempsey Library 6566 3210 or email kempsey.library@kempsey.nsw.gov.au