Australia Day Awards now open

Media release - 10 October 2018

Do you know someone who makes a difference to our community? Maybe they volunteer their time, perhaps their work helps others, or they have been an outstanding representative of the Macleay.

Honour those who make the Macleay a better place by nominating them for an Australia Day Award.

Nominations are now open in four categories;

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year (aged between 12-26 years)
  • Community Group of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year

The 2019 Australia Day Awards will be presented at the annual Kempsey Shire Council ceremony held at the Slim Dusty Centre on Australia Day Eve Friday 25 January 2019.

Mayor Liz Campbell believes that this years Award nominations will once again highlight the amazing contributions of locals.

“We’ve had an increasing number of Award nominations in the last few years as people make a conscious effort to honour those who make a difference.

“Last years Citizen of the Year, Betty Green has continued to work tirelessly for the community. She was the patron of the Seniors Festival earlier in the year, even starring in the promotional video” said Mayor Campbell.

Nominations are open until Friday 30 November, with an easy to complete form available on Council’s website

2018 Australia Day Award winners with Mayor Liz Campbell2018 Australia Day Award winners: Community Group of the Year - Baylin’s Gift; Young Citizen of the Year - Abigael Baker; Citizen of the Year - Betty Green; Australia Day Ambassador - Joel Pilgrim; Mayor Liz Campbell; Volunteer of the Year - Richard Collins