What is the role of Council committees?

Kempsey Shire Council’s committees perform work that helps Council make well-informed decisions. Committees are able to investigate and consider matters in detail without the time constraints of ordinary Council meetings.

There are two types of Council committees:

  • Standing committees discuss and explore policy directions and make recommendations to Council meetings. These committees are made up of Councillors only.
  • Community committees advise on specific services or facilities in the shire. These committees are made up of both Councillors and community members.

Appointment of community members

When establishing a community committee, Council asks for expressions of interest from residents by advertising in the local press. Council then considers the applications and chooses suitably qualified community members. Membership ends when a Council’s term expires on the date of a general election.

Committee membership

Council committees

The following is a list of Councillors elected to committees. Many of these committees have other members who are not listed here.

All committee memberships were reviewed at the Council meeting on 20 September 2022.

Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee

  • Councillor Kerri Riddington

Australia Day Awards Committee

  • Councillor Kerri Riddington
  • Councillor Dean Saul

Bushfire Management Committee and Zone Liaison Committee

  • Councillor Arthur Bain
  • Councillor Simon Fergusson as alternate delegate

ClubGRANTS Committee

  • Mayor Leo Hauville

General Manager's Performance Review Panel

  • Mayor Leo Hauville
  • Councillor Anthony Patterson
  • Councillor Kerri Riddington

Local Traffic Committee

  • Councillor Kerri Riddington 

Melville Hall and Sports Entertainment Centre Management Committee

  • Mayor Leo Hauville

Mid North Coast Regional Arts Board

  • Councillor Kinne Ring
  • Councillor Alexandra Wyatt as alternate delegate

Public Libraries Association North-East Zone Committee

  • Councillor Arthur Bain

South West Rocks Sports and Recreation Association

  • Councillor Anthony Patterson 

  • Councillor Kerri Riddington as alternate delegate

Committee policies

Committees must follow Council’s policies and procedures, maintain accurate records and be transparent in their dealings and decision making. Relevant publications include: